Jobs and Gamer Lifestyle

Use this forum to post anything that is not video game related.
Icarus

Jobs and Gamer Lifestyle

Post by Icarus » Sat Jun 07, 2008 8:08 pm

It is evident that many gamers end up in similar professions. Among those professions, software and computer engineering jobs are, I venture, dominant ones. In any case, as a somewhat young engineer, I can't help but be curious about where other gamers live and what their jobs are like. This thread is to prompt discussion about professions and lifestyle of gamers. I hope that two positive effects can be garnered: a sense of community among gamers and, more ambitiously, a network of opportunities among gamers that can be exploited to bring gamers together in work and play.

To get things started, here's a bit of my story:

Early Game Experience:

Atari 5200
I played Joust with my mom at the ripe age of 3. I was proud when I first qualified at Pole Position. My all time favorite was Dig Dug, with Qix approaching as a close second.

Atari 2600 and garage sales (recapturing nostalgia)
I began to amass quite a collection of 2600 games. I would rifle through garage sale boxes and haggle to get the best games for a quarter or two. I regrettably sold my respectable collection later in middle school when I needed a few bucks. Among the games were: Lock 'n Chase, Pac Man, Boxing, Defender, Galaxian, Adventure, Kareteka (7800), Combat, Pitfall, Yars Revenge.

Nintendo Entertainment System (the highlight of my childhood)
NES was great. I remember the best NES Christmas. My brother told me he was getting me a Barbie Dreamhouse. When the gigantic box appeared near the tree I was angry, but suspicious. Turns out, he got me TMNT for NES. The parents got me SMB2. What a Christmas.

Sega Genesis:
My brother sold the NES to a buddy for some speakers. As a consolation we got a Sega Genesis. Altered Beast was so cool and bizarre, but I missed my NES (Rygar in particular)

SNES: